Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart
Love by Numbers #3

by Sarah MacLean

genre: historical romance, adult

Summary from Goodreads

love by the numbers 3There is no telling where a scandal might lead…

She lives for passion.

Bold, impulsive, and a magnet for trouble, Juliana Fiori is no simpering English miss. She refuses to play by society’s rules: she speaks her mind, cares nothing for the approval of the ton, and can throw a punch with remarkable accuracy. Her scandalous nature makes her a favorite subject of London’s most practiced gossips…and precisely the kind of woman the Duke of Leighton wants far far away from him.

He swears by reputation.

Scandal is the last thing Simon Pearson has room for in his well-ordered world. The Duke of Disdain is too focused on keeping his title untainted and his secrets unknown. But when he discovers Juliana hiding in his carriage late one evening–risking everything he holds dear–he swears to teach the reckless beauty a lesson in propriety.

She has other plans, however; she wants two weeks to prove that even an unflappable duke is not above passion.

Review

This is going to be a short review of lower than standard quality. It was not until I was cleaning out my phone, removing already reviewed audio books that I realized this one has not been reviewed even though I read it towards the very end of last year.

I thought I liked it, but apparently I gave it 2 stars on Goodreads, so I’m going to go with that. I trust whatever I was thinking right after finishing it more than I trust what I remember now. An elephants’ memory I have not.

From what I remember, I had a problem with the whole virtue of a woman thing. I realize that’s part of historical romances, but some books pull it off and others just piss me off. This felt rammed down my throat and I didn’t care for the characters much at all. Juliana was good for the most part, but I recall being frustrated with her for one reason or another. Oh I remember! I was angered by how reputation can be completely ruined by the actions of a relative. I love my brother; we don’t always see eye to eye and we have very different life paths. I didn’t raise him. I certainly have no control (nor should I) over his actions as an adult and vise versa. Whatever choices either of us makes, those are ours and ours alone to live with.

I really do apologize for the delayed review, I won’t let it happen again! All in all, I do not recommend it. Promise my next review will be better.

Rating

2 out of 5 stars

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

To see what other books we’ve reviewed, check out our book reviews page.

