Tags

, , ,

I meant to share this long ago but it got swept up in the posts. I can’t remember now how I came across this video but I found it so serene and hypnotic to listen to. It’s a short story by Virginia Woolf, The Haunted House, read aloud. This story has such a great ending. This story made me want to search for more of Woolf’s works.

Here are two fantastic sentences I fell in love with:
‘Moonbeams spalsh and spill wildly in the rain.’
‘The door go shutting far in the distance, gently knocking like the pulse of heart.’

I just had to make note that I loved the voice of the man who read the story. It was perfect. I’m a major fan of audiobooks. I rarely listen to them in any language but Spanish, and the voice of the reader can make a great book bad. I love having my partner read books in Dutch to me, I find it so calming. I’m a sucker for a great reading voice. ^^

What are your thoughts on the short story? What did you think about the mans reading voice? Do you like being read to?

– Ermisenda Alvarez

