We are quickly approaching our 100th book review! We’ve read a variety of novels from classics to books published in the last few years. We’ve read New York Times best selling authors and indie debut novels. We’ve even gotten to read some before they hit the shelves. Some have blown us away, others got thrown away (aka returned; you didn’t really think we’d throw away books did you?)

I think that’s why this Francis Bacon quote speaks to me now more than it did when I first saw it. Below are the lines of the poem and my interpretation.

“Some books are meant to be tasted.” Some books are meant to be sampled. Wicked, Game of Thrones. Both were books I thought I would absolutely love. They’re in my favorite genre and I liked the summary, but I don’t think I’ll ever finish either.

“Some books are meant to be swallowed.” Someone else has read the book and is bird vomiting it into your open mouth, no thinking required. I’m afraid  this is where our educational system is headed.

“And some few are to be chewed and digested.” Some books you read for fun, these books you read for the lessons contained within. These books make you think and may even shape the way you look at the world.

What books have you read recently? Which category did they fit into?

-Eliabeth Hawthorne