Tags

, , , , , ,

I urge people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language (provide a translation please :)). Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph has been reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr.

The lightning bolts not only lightened the sky but also my eyes. I stared in wonder and awe. The view of my hospital room was perfect, my family had argued time and time again for the best position of the sky. Although I was hesitant at first, not wanting to cause a ruckus, I was so glad when the storm began. The stunning, spiderweb-like bolts streaking the sky filled me up with the happiness I had lost for so long. My wrists were bandaged, yet I was not thinking about how small or insignificant I felt in this world. The beauty of nature filled those gaping holes of anxiety and depression within my soul. I wondered if I too could reach that relief and calm that drenched the atmosphere once the storm settled.

– Ermisenda Alvarez