Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Choice

by Nicholas Sparks

genre: romance, drama, chick-lit

bridesmaids-by-jane-costello.jpg

Summary from Goodreads

 

Four weddings, three disgruntled ex-boyfriends in the congregation, two wayward ‘chicken-fillet’ boob enhancers, and one gorgeous man, it’s tough being a bridesmaid.

Review

Why I Chose the Book

Ironically, I was two weeks away from being a bridesmaid for the second time in my life, so when I saw the book I had to get it. I wanted something to commemorate my trip and there’s no way I’d forget where I got this book from given the timing.

Initial Thoughts

After reading the back cover, which is a bit more expansive than the Goodreads summary, I was a little afraid it was going to be a spin-off of the TV show Four Weddings. If you haven’t seen it, don’t worry; you’re not missing anything. Purely because I wanted to take home a book that I’d always remember was from this trip, I went ahead and bought it. Right from the get-go it had me laughing, or at least snickering quietly to myself. My only complaint right from the start is that the man is a little too perfect. Maybe it’s because I just finished another romance novel, but tall dark and handsome, rich with a good job and rippling muscles just seemed overplayed. I like my heroes to be a little less obvious, or at least more flawed than a slightly crooked nose.

Final Thoughts

Definitely one of my fastest reads. Perhaps it was the short chapters that left loads of space on some of the pages or the giant spider in my room that kept me awake (and reading) instead of falling back asleep, but I finished all 419 pages in two days.

For the most part, Costello was able to transport me. Only one of the four weddings had an air of being forced in by the author, but not so much so as to cost it a star. The characters were vivacious and funny. Part of me really wished one of them had turned out differently, but more than that I liked that it wasn’t wrapped up in a nice bow. Obviously it had a happy ending for the main couple, but not all of the endings were happy. That may be the first romance novel I’ve read where that happened, so it not only added a happy element of surprise, but also a realistic feel to the story.

Recommendation

Don’t let the thickness of the book throw you. I was half asleep reading it and even had to put another book down that I couldn’t follow in that state, but this one was a breeze. I loved the characters, especially with their flaws. This book comes highly recommended.

Rating

5 out of 5 stars.

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

To see what other books we’ve reviewed, check out our book reviews page.

