Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Husband Wanted: Will Train
(Destiny Bay: Baby Dreams #1)

by Helen Conrad

genre: romance

Summary from Goodreads

husband-wanted-will-trainIt seemed a harmless game–until she found out who he really was.

Charity Ames is trapped into a lie and she hates it. She needs a man to pretend to be her husband for a few days–so she hires one. Expecting a gargoyle, she’s amazed when he turns out to be a very appealing hunk.

Ross wants something Charity has, so when he gets the chance to pretend to be her husband, he takes it. But Charity is not the brittle business woman he expects and he falls hard and fast for her barefoot, South Seas image. Trouble is, it’s an image she’s trying to deep six, and she can’t really believe a man from a prominent family like his–and with a terrifying mother like he’s got — would want anything to do with a girl of her shady past.

When she finds out he’s trying to trick her just like she’s trying to trick her aunt, she’s heartbroken and resentful. Can true love bridge the gap between their backgrounds and set the stage for baby-making happiness?
Includes love scenes.

Original published in print by SILHOUETTE DESIRE and recently revised as part of the Destiny Bay Series….

***rewrite of Husband for Hire (Sihouette Desire #434) written under the pen name Raye Morgan

Review

Why I Chose the Book

I have a couple books on my phone and this was the one that grabbed me. Likely, it was one of the top 100 free I downloaded months (or years) ago. It’s an interesting concept to be sure, and one that promised to be full of humor.

Initial Thoughts

I really don’t like the character list at the beginning of the book. As soon as I saw it, warning sirens blared in my head. First problem: there’s no way I am going to remember that many names, descriptions, and occupations out of context. Though I didn’t go back at the end, I’m pretty sure there were names in the initial line up that were not anywhere in the novel. Second problem: it screams novice. Even though there is a publishing house associated with the book, it wreaked of self publishing.

Final Thoughts

Had I realized it was a rewrite of some 434th installment of another series, I wouldn’t have read it no matter how interesting the title. Even though I liked the concept, it didn’t take long to realize that the concept was flawed. Who falls in love with an actor they are paying to play a role? I understand why one might, especially when one is training said person to fit the desired role. The line between fantasy and reality can blur, but I would like to think that smarter heads would prevail.

Another major flaw was that Conrad stole my ability to have an opinion. “Show don’t tell” is one of those easy things to pick apart in other people’s work but so hard to catch in your own. Here’s what really did Conrad in:

“Charity had a wonderful time… she felt like a valued visitor… [At least two very friendly conversations with Ross’s relatives.] The rest of the Carringtons were all exceptionally nice to her and she left with a glow of happiness. It was only later, when she went over the events and conversations of the evening, that she realized the truth… Nice as they’d been to her, Ross’s parents didn’t think she was right for their son.”

I was stunned and confused. Conrad hadn’t included any conversations from the party that hinted towards his parents feeling that way. I was robbed of my ability to make up my own mind. There was no way to tell if Charity was right or if she was overthinking things. That passage reinforced the feeling of sitting with a girlfriend at the coffee shop, just getting the highlights. It was incredibly one sided even though I also got to read snippets of Ross’s thoughts and point of view. There was very little detail, especially where it counts.

That said, there was one silver lining. I don’t relate to Charity. I’ve never felt like I have to lie to my friends or family for them to accept them for who I am. True, I haven’t deviated that far from how I was raised, but that doesn’t mean my parents approve of every decision I’ve made, including some big ones. Reading about a girl who has to hire a husband and constantly put on a facad made me feel grateful for the life, friends, and family I have. I wish I could give it a higher rating, but the bad far outweighed the good.

Recommendation

Pass. It had sparks of humor, but the writing wasn’t that good and that’s a deal breaker for me.

Rating

There were enough typos to drop it from two stars to one.

1 out of 5 stars.

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

To see what other books we’ve reviewed, check out our book reviews page.

