Tags

, , , , ,

Welcome to the Picture it & Write creative writing exercise. I invite people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language (please provide a translation). Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph will be reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr and added to the Picture it & Write gallery on Facebook and Pinterest.

Please continue to write however you’re inspired, but add a tag to the beginning of your post if there’s mature content in order to keep Picture it & Write an engaging event for all of our followers.

I held my breath as the grocery store scooter hit a bump. Pain radiated out from my abdomen. My eyes clenched shut and I almost cried. Ever since the surgery, it felt like someone had attacked my midsection with a cheese wire. The doctor told me I could walk and push a cart, which would have been all well and good except for the car ride to the store. Every bump jiggled my stomach and even though there was no visual evidence of such, I swear it pulled on my stitches.

I headed to the frozen food aisle since there was no way in Hell I would be cooking this week. When I rounded the corner, I saw a mother carrying her child. It didn’t take telepathy to know what she thought of me. Her eyes caught mine, roamed down to the scooter and then back up. She saw a twenty-two year old riding a scooter. She didn’t see the four incisions in my belly, kept together by stitches and glue. She didn’t see my missing ovaries, uterus, and tubes. She saw a lazy girl taking resources from the elderly.

I passed the frozen food, my cheeks flushed with embarrassment. It might have been different if I had a cast on my foot, something she could see. When one of the store clerks glared at me, I abandoned the scooter and walked slowly, painfully back to the car. Tonight, I would order takeout.

Eliabeth Hawthorne

Everyone is welcome to use the button, just link them back to the Picture it & Write category or Ermiliablog:) Share your love for Picture it & write on your blog with the image below. Be proud, and stylish ;) !

Photobucket

