Tags

, , , ,

I really wish Goodreads would let you add more than one date for when you read a book so that it could count for different yearly challenges. I just finished rereading Ready Player One and if I were able to include it in this year’s ratings, it would once again be in my 5 star reads.

Other 5 star reads this year:

Just Like Heaven, a historical laugh-out-loud romance. Julia Quinn is an author I came across while working on my A-Z author challenge. A little disappointed that Audible didn’t have the title I was looking for, but I’ll certainly read more of her books in the future.

The Selection and The Elite, the first two books in The Selection series. If The Bachelor were filmed during The Hunger Games it would resemble the world created in The Selection. Though the third book was only a four, the first two started this series off marvelously and the ending made up for any hiccups with the final volume.

Cinder, a post apocalyptic Cinderella story. Cress, the third volume in The Lunar Chronicles won third place in the 2014 Goodreads Choice Awards! I didn’t think I was going to continue the series (adding aliens was just one thing too many in the blender for me) but seeing that has me reconsidering. It beat my choice, The One by one place.

I’d also voted for…

What If?.  The author is a brilliant physicist, ex NASA employee turned cartoonist. He manages to take complicated mathematical explanations about how to calculate the power output of Yoda and turn it into something understandable for the plebeians without it feeling dumbed down.

Those are my top reads this year (so far). Just finished The Book Thief but haven’t written a review yet. I also need to finish The Jungle and one book with an author whose first or last name ends in E. Any suggestions?

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

