Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Magic Bites

by Ilona Andrews

genre: adventure, science fiction, young adult

Summary from Goodreads

Magic BitesKate Daniels is a down-on-her-luck mercenary who makes her living cleaning up paranormal problems. Atlanta has two factions struggling for power. Masters of the Dead are necromancers who control vampires. The Pack are a paramilitary clan of shapechangers. When Kate’s guardian is killed, she is caught between.

Review

Not a bad book, but nothing captivating either. It’s filled with werewolves and vampires if you like those. I’m finding that I don’t enjoy that sub-genre of fantasy as much as others though I don’t dislike it.

The characters are snarly and sarcastic. I certainly like that Kate is a bad ass female with magic, martial arts skills, who can wield a sword. There’s more to her than the first book reveals. I find her fear of responsibility and mistrust of authority interesting.

My only complaint was that it was hard to keep the story straight in between readings. It might be a reflection on everything going on in my life right now, but I was constantly having to rewind when I started the audio book back up and that’s not something I’ve had to do for other books.

3 out of 5 stars

You might like this book if:

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

To see what other books we’ve reviewed, check out our book reviews page.

