Tags

, , , ,

One Day

by David Nicholls

genre: drama, romance

A slow burn type of read that touched me. Find out why I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars!

Summary

one-day-book-review-david-nicholls(Taken from Goodreads)

Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. So where will they be on this one day next year? And the year after that? And every year that follows?

Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY.

 

Review

This is one of those strange books that really touched me but I can’t give it more than 3.5 stars. I have struggled with the rating for quite some time. It made me think, made me ponder, it gave me a book hangover for a little while. It’s a story of love, life, and regret. It makes you think about your choices, the people you have touched with your life and those that have touched yours.

I feel like that the authenticity of the storytelling and character emotions allowed it to carry that meaningful weight. Along with that, I really appreciated the writing technique which first drew me in. A story where we glimpse at their lives only one day year after year? How cool! I remember seeing the movie advertised and I was intrigued. Turned off by the romantic edge, I dismissed it. As I saw this book at a book sale for only a few dollars, I picked it up. I’m glad I did. It was a great distraction the weeks before my thesis.

Although I did enjoy the book, and I want to give it a higher score, I didn’t really like the guy character (Dexter) much at all. I felt like he was too insensitive, snobbish, and self-centered. I really liked the female protagonist Emma even though I didn’t understand why she was so hung up on Dexter. I love that although the characters start off somewhat two-dimensional, they really grow and develop. Their flaws protrude conspicuously. They have moments of redemption. They were very human. The fact that the author pulled this story off by only giving us a glimpse into their lives, one day of each year, is impressive.

In saying that, I’m not sure if part of the reason I enjoyed it so much was because of the creative writing technique. Maybe if it had been a linear tale I would have been much more bored. Overall, I really enjoyed the novel. It made me particularly grateful for having met my partner so young in my life and that at 5 years, we’re still going strong. If everything goes to plan (which I know it often doesn’t), I’ll be able to spend most of my life with the person I love. Life is too short to waste not doing things we enjoy or being people we care about.

Have you read One Day? Watch the movie? I’m going to watch the movie soon! Did you like it? Did it touch your heart?

3.5 out of 5 stars

amazonbutton2 copyThis book is for you if you:

  • Love character-driven novels
  • Like honest books about life
  • Appreciate creative writing techniques in storytelling

This book is not for you if you:

  • Hate arrogant male protagonists
  • Want a fast-paced story

 Ermisenda Alvarez

Enjoy this review? Leave comments below or to submit a review request for your novel or see what other books we’ve reviewed, please check the Book Reviews page.

