Tags

,

robert frost gravestone

I’ve been hearing it for years. My sit down job is going to kill me. Top it off that I come home and sit in front of the computer some more and my future looks pretty grim. I’m active though. I go to the gym at least three times a week, you’ve seen my attempt at 5Ks, and I practice yoga.

Apparently that is not enough.

Adjusting your physical activity is not enough to reverse the negative effects of sitting on your chances of cancer according to the Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

I couldn’t help but think of you guys. Most of you are writers or bloggers as well. We live behind the screen and engage in a community that will never meet in person (introverts unite! separately!). Do authors live shorter lives? I know some journalists and probably some novelists are much more active, living out the stories or doing research. One blogger suggests that just a four and a half minute break is enough when sprinkled through the day to combat the perils of sitting too long.

Do you sit at your job? How do you make up for it?

-Eliabeth

