Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Red Dragon
(Hannibal Lecter #1)

by Thomas Harris

genre: horror, thriller, mystery

Synopsis from Goodreads

red dragonWill Graham stands in a silent, empty house communing with a killer. An FBI instructor with a gift for hunting madmen, Graham knows what his murderer looks like, how he thinks, and what he did to his victims after they died. Now Graham must try to catch him. But to do it, he must feel the heat of a killer’s brain, draw on the macabre advice of a dangerous mental patient, Dr. Hannibal Lecter, and follow a trail of microscopic clues to the place where another family has already been chosen to die–and where an innocent woman has found the Dragon first.

Review

So, this was the book club’s choice for a mystery novel. *Shudders violently.* Let me start by saying that this is not my type of book and, left to my own devices, I never would have read it. My one Goodreads update said “Just… no.”

Red Dragon was graphically grotesque. It took me a while to write the review because I needed some mental floss to clean it out of my brain. One good thing I can say for it is that it lead me to read The Selection by Kiera Cass in an attempt to read something lighthearted. I hope no one considers this a spoiler, but I want to give you an idea of the content: there is a scene where a man bites the lips off another man using his grandmother’s dentures before setting him on fire.

Bit. Off. His. Lips.

The murder scenes were equally disturbing. I must admit that it was very well written, enough to raise the hairs on my arms and give me goosebumps. Even though the story suddenly goes off on a tangent, giving the life story of the murderer, you come out of it feeling sorry for him. That’s a sign of brilliant writing, but I simply could not get past the churning in my stomach and gagging that accompanied my reading.

2 out of 5 stars

But don’t let that stop you (remember, this isn’t my type of book). Preview on Amazon and read some of the positive reviews.

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

To see what other books we’ve reviewed, check out our book reviews page.

