Tags

, , , , , , ,

No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.

-Eleanor Roosevelt.

I think the same goes for feeling ashamed. When kindle (and other e-readers) first came out, there were plenty of memes about letting women read trashy romance novels in public. At first, I was excited too because, let’s face it, there are some guilty pleasure books I don’t want people to see me reading. I’m still working on it, but I love this sentiment:

dont-be-ashamed-to-readIt’s like admitting that Sailor Moon is one of my favorite movies and that I play the My Little Pony game on Android. Most of my guilty pleasures are childish, but to feel ashamed, I have to care what strangers think… and the people who know me who “sneak up” without meaning to. Minor details. I hope to someday be comfortable enough to whip out any book I’m reading and just not care; until then, I have my trusty kindle.

-Eliabeth

Do you have any guilty pleasure reads?

 

