Tags

, ,

I found a list of 26 books that “change the way you see the world” by Erin La Rosa. Out of the list, I’ve read one: The Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling. I’ve also read two of the other authors, but not the books listed: Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. Since I haven’t read most of them, I can’t begin to comment on whether it’s a good list or not. At first, I thought, Harry Potter didn’t really change how I look at he world, but it has. Would Blind Sight exist if we’d never wondered how differently the Harry Potter story would be through Snape’s point of view? Probably, eventually, but maybe not done as well.

Some books that have changed the way I see the world:

Matched by Ally Condie: Most dystopian novels make me think, but I was specifically taken by a scene where the government chopped down all of the trees in a neighborhood to make things even. While one family took care of their tree and nurtured it so that it grew tall and strong, another family had a wilting tree, small and sickly. Since things weren’t even no one got a tree.

Inferno by Dan Brown: A very interesting solution to overpopulation. While I’ve enjoyed the rest of his books, this was the one that left a book hangover.

Monstrous Regiment by Terry Pratchett: This one is a little different. It didn’t change how I see the world, it just made me more aware about some of the assumptions I make. It’s like getting a review that opens your eyes and lets you become aware of certain faults or traits.

Are there any books that have changed how you see the world?

-Eliabeth

