Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Little Prince

by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

genre: children’s story, allegory

A classic children’s story that is so much more than just a children’s story. Find out why I gave it 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Summary

the-little-prince-book-review(Taken from Goodreads)

Moral allegory and spiritual autobiography, The Little Prince is the most translated book in the French language. With a timeless charm it tells the story of a little boy who leaves the safety of his own tiny planet to travel the universe, learning the vagaries of adult behaviour through a series of extraordinary encounters. His personal odyssey culminates in a voyage to Earth and further adventures.

 

Review

I met up with my writing friend Samantha the other day and as soon as I saw her, she gave me The Little Prince and told me I had to read it. I knew this was a big deal since she’s very particular about who can read her books and I was honoured to be trusted with her new copy.

It’s a small book and even though I’d normally say, “I’m too busy to read a novel because of university work,” I decided to read this book. After all, it is tiny and I finished it in less than two hours. It really is such a beautifully touching novel and while I don’t think it touched my heart as much as for some others, I can already tell it’s a book that will stick with me for many years to come. Maybe for a lifetime.

The writing style is simple but powerful. I felt at the beginning that I was just reading a children’s story and I wasn’t sure how long it would keep my attention. But I quickly the recognised that this story was a brilliant allegory. I think my favourite part was when the Little Prince visited the different smaller planets and encountered the different type of men. Very insightful.

There were some parts that felt cheesy to me but it by no means weakens the novel. It was written in 1943 after all. But I really took the most from the links drawn by the child about grown-ups and ‘men’.  I think it’s a story I’d love to read years from now. I feel like it’s a book that grows in significance or changes every time you read it, depending on your life experiences. It is so much more than a children’s story and I applaud Antoine for doing that. I have a feeling that the adults reading the story take so much more from it than the children.

Even though there were moments where I had to stop and think about what I just read, I liked that this story didn’t spoon feed you everything. It’s very interpretative which is why think a lot of people love it. It’s for this same reason why I think I’d love to read it a second time somewhere down the road (of my life). It’s such a beautiful abstract (and surprisingly concrete) story.

Have you read the Little Prince? What did you think? Did it reach your high expectations as an amazing children/adult story?

4.5 out of 5 stars

amazonbutton2 copyThis book is for you if you:

  • Enjoy classics
  • Love allegorical stories
  • Feel like a short read

This book is not for you if you:

  • Want a plot-driven story
  • Are sick of abstract and symbolic stories that make you stop and think

 Ermisenda Alvarez

Enjoy this review? Leave comments below or to submit a review request for your novel or see what other books we’ve reviewed, please check the Book Reviews page.

