Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The Iron Queen

The Iron Fey #3

by Julie Kagawa

genre: urban fantasy, YA, romance

Synopsis from Goodreads

Iron Queen by Julie KagawaMy name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.

Review

Stop reading here! This is the high point in the series (but not that I’ve only read through book 4). Meghan is finally showing some initiative and actually being productive. It’s one thing to agree to blindly charge into battle without a plan and another to be part of the planning process.

However, if I’m remembering the books right, I really wanted to slap her. Sorry it’s taking me so long to come back and review books I’ve read months ago. I’m going to work on reviewing the books instead of reading more until I’m caught up. So this may have happened in book 2, but I’m 99% sure it happened in book 3. I thought only the bad guys were supposed to monologue. The good guys don’t sit around reminiscing and doddling while someone on their team bleeds to death. I practically pulled over to yell, “What is wrong with you people?”

At this point, I was over the love triangle even though it persisted through the story. What saved this book was the ending. It was beautiful, poignant, and simply brought me to tears. Reading all of the way through was worth it even if there’s some rough patches in the middle. Don’t read the fourth book though, just make up what happens in your head and end the story how you want to end it. After book 4, the story continues through a new set of perspectives, but… I’ve moved on.

My recommendation: read the first three, then stop.

You might like this book if…

  • You like fantasy novels with a twist
  • You enjoy both fantasy and steampunk and would like to read their love child

You might not like this book if…

  • You prefer traditional high fantasy novels

4 out of 5 stars
-Eliabeth Hawthorne

Edit: Okay so someone please tell me how to see the notes on Goodreads before you publish a full review. I found this entered around the 90% mark: “We finally have a strong heroin with male sidekicks. The only problem is, she’s a complete idiot.”

