Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Iron Daughter

The Iron Fey #2

by Julie Kagawa

genre: urban fantasy, YA, romance

Synopsis from Goodreads

The Iron DaughterHalf Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

Review

One of my complaints with The Iron King was how passive Meghan is. After reading the third novel, I saw the progression and growth that she couldn’t have experienced if she’d started in a more active role, but I’m getting ahead of myself. The second Iron Fey novel, The Iron Daughter is when I really fell in love with Prince Ash. In the first book, he was impressive and admirable, but nothing more than the steriotypical brooding boyfriend. In the second, he has depth and character. *Happy sigh.*

Meghan was all sorts of mopey-teenager in this one. I wanted to pull her aside and explain things because oh em gee she was a little slow to catch on. There were some rather obvious hints at what happens in book 3, that I was surprised wasn’t a bigger deal in book 2. I’d like to think I would have figured it out in her shoes, but it may have been one of those you can see it from the outside but not when you’re living it situations.

You might like this book if…

  • You enjoy books with brooding characters and forbidden romance
  • You like fantasy novels with a twist
  • Cliffhangers make you giddy

You might not like this book if…

  • You prefer traditional high fantasy novels

Okay so I have a confession to make… I finished The Iron Daughter in November. I rated it but didn’t give it a review, so I’m giving it the same rating now, working under the assumption that my opinion right after I read it is a more accurate rating. Looking back, I thought I had rated it four stars though. It’s a really cute series, maybe I was being too harsh or maybe there was something that really bothered me then that I’ve overlooked now.

Edit: So I found these notes in a review I started but forgot about and ended up writing this one. This might shed some light on why I gave it a three:

Meghan is frustratingly naive. Perhaps it’s because as a reader, we can step back and evaluate the situation with an objective eye, but I just wanted to roll my eyes or shake her shoulders. “Why are you dumb!” I shouted, earning some strange gazes at the gym.

3 out of 5 stars
-Eliabeth Hawthorne

