Tags

, , , , , ,

Little Women
(Little Women #1)

by Louisa May Alcott

genre: classics

Didn’t realize this was the first in a series… that I won’t bee reading. Lightning may strike me from the sky, but I don’t understand what’s so brilliant about this book.

Synopsis from Goodreads

In picturesque nineteenth-century New England, tomboyish Jo, beautiful Meg, fragile Beth, and romantic Amy come of age while their father is off to war.

Review

I absolutely loved the movie. After reading the book, I’m astonished at how true the movie stayed to the original story line. Though the book had more depth and detail, it dragged. I didn’t mind the dialogue in the movie, but when every sentence has that dated feel (I don’t think this is Old English is it?), it becomes cumbersome to listen to. The other major difference in the narrative format was that the narrator in the book not only interrupts the story for moral commentary, but comments on herself doing it! She announces that she’s gone off on a tangent and acknowledges that it might be boring to the reader. I found her long winded and obnoxious. A classic, it has almost 800K reviews, most positive. The bell curve distribution in favor of high ratings is rather astonishing to me. Give me Lord of the Flies over Little Women any day.

As for the characters, I liked The Professor better in the movie and Amy better in the book. As a fiction writer, I did not appreciate his dismissal of fairy tales and fiction as garbage. Sure, it does not have the same educational value as non-fiction, but fiction has educational value. If you remind me, I’ll save that soap box tangent for another post. On the other hand, I questioned Amy’s sincerity in the movie while the book does a much better job showing her path from pretentious brat to loving young woman.

This is a 2 star read for me, completely personal preference.

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

Disagree? Leave a comment. You can also see other books we’re loved, hated, and everything in between on our Book Reviews page.

