Tags

, , , , ,

“Why can’t I try on different lives, like dresses, to see which fits best and is more becoming?” – Sylvia Plath

sylvia-plath-quotes

“I act and react, and suddenly I wonder, ‘Where is the girl that I was last year? Two years ago? What would she think of me now?’” – Sylvia Plath

I have been thinking a lot about life in the recent hours, weeks months; both career related and romantically. When I read these two quotes from Sylvia Plath, I was shocked. I knew exactly what she meant. I have been able to see myself living so many kinds of life. Not just as a fleeting thoughts but real lives. My imagination is so vivid. Maybe that’s why I write. To write about the lives that I will never live but so I can still experience it, even if it’s only a little bit.

I just really wish I could try on lives like dresses. And what would the me of years ago or the me of years in the future think of my choices now?

Do you ever have these thoughts?

– Ermisenda Alvarez

