Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Inferno (Langdon #4)

by Dan Brown

genre: thriller, adventure

Venice. Overpopulation. Race against time. This was an entertaining read with a stellar plot and only mildly annoying characters. Find out why I gave it a 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Summary

UK cover Inferno Dan Brown(Taken from Goodreads)

In his international blockbusters The Da Vinci Code, Angels & Demons, and The Lost Symbol, Dan Brown masterfully fused history, art, codes, and symbols. In this riveting new thriller, Brown returns to his element and has crafted his highest-stakes novel to date.

In the heart of Italy, Harvard professor of symbology Robert Langdon is drawn into a harrowing world centered on one of history’s most enduring and mysterious literary masterpieces . . . Dante’s Inferno.

Against this backdrop, Langdon battles a chilling adversary and grapples with an ingenious riddle that pulls him into a landscape of classic art, secret passageways, and futuristic science. Drawing from Dante’s dark epic poem, Langdon races to find answers and decide whom to trust . . . before the world is irrevocably altered.

Review

Since Eliabeth has already reviewed this novel, I’ll try to keep it short and sweet. Short story, I really enjoyed it. Long story is below. Minor spoilers will be included in this review.

I think the plot and themes were the strongest points of the novel. The plot had numerous twists, many of which I wasn’t expecting. The theme about world population was well explored and thought-provoking. I love thinking about these concepts and the repercussions if we acted on it at a mass scale. This book explores both the sides to the argument in a creative and entertaining way. I absolutely loved the ending and what their actions had achieved or not achieved. And to be honest, I thought the final “bad thing” was not that bad. If that would solve so much, I thought it was brilliant and merciful. But then again, there would be plenty who would argue with me.

I don’t really like Langdon all that much. Sure, he is a nice guy and a gentleman. I can appreciate that and he’s an okay protagonist to follow. But I hate that they keep trying to make him a lady’s man. He’s middle-aged and a professor. Sure there are some attractive professors but did you really have to slide romance in when the girl is so much younger? Really? REALLY? Romance was NOT needed in this book at all. It was just a pathetic subplot thrown in at the last second to appease the egos of middle-aged men.

For some reason the Sinsky character annoyed me. It was because she kept going on about how much she had always wanted children and yet never had some of her own because she was infertile. So? There’s adoption? Foster homes? I don’t know, there’s other options than giving birth to your own blood. That frustrated me because it seemed like whining for the sake of whining.

I liked the setting in Europe, Venice. It was lovely to read the descriptions and made me want to visit Venice soon. I did feel like he plonked historical info blobs every now and again but that’s very Dan Brown. While it would be frustrating at times because you wanted to continue with the story, and Dan Brown was just showing off his knowledge and researching skills, at times it truly was interesting.

There was a great scene play where they tricked you about who was narrating it. That was some great work and I applaud Dan Brown for that. It can be hard to trick people like that and I thought he did it perfectly.

I think because I was listening to this on Audiobook, I couldn’t skip bits, so I listened to the entire thing. I think this helped my enjoyment of the story. I have a tendency to skip things that either repeat themselves or seem pointless to me (aka, historical blobs would have most likely been skipped). This book is far from flawless and some things irritated me, but I really enjoyed it. It wasn’t quite as realistic as I would have liked. A few characters who conveniently popped up to get Langdon from point A to point B effortlessly. But it was an entertaining read with a great bit of philosophy to have your mind chew on for a while.

I boosted the score up from 4 to 4.5 because of the ending and main plot of overpopulation. It’s been the best story I’ve read that addresses it.

4.5 out of 5 stars

This book is for you if you:

  • Love European history and learning tidbits about European past
  • Want a story with oodles of twists that will keep you guessing
  • Like books that present challenging concepts such as overpopulation

This book is not for you if you:

  • Don’t like Hollywood adventure that pushes the boundaries of realism at times
  • Don’t like stories straying from plot and characters to explain random bits of scenery and the history behind it

 Ermisenda Alvarez

Enjoy this review? Leave comments below or to submit a review request for your novel or see what other books we’ve reviewed, please check the Book Reviews page.

