Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Open Minds

by Susan Kaye Quinn

genre: YA, drama, adventure, dystopian

A fantastic concept but very YA. This is why I gave it a 2.5 out of 5 stars!

Summary

(Taken from Goodreads)12727768

Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden world of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her.

Review

I recently finished this novel and I was sadly not that impressed. The story is good. The concept is brilliant. The main character (Kira) is likeable. Raf is cool, Simon is terrible. The two-boy love interest is tiring. The execution just felt…so young young adult. I really hated Simon, the “bad boy”. He is the emotionally/mentally abusive kind of guy. Not sure what Kira ever found in him. That truly baffled me.

I really admire Susan for doing so well with her trilogy. As far as I’m aware, she’s a self-published author. The editing is superb. It reads published. Since Ermilia has recently gone self-published with Blind Sight, it’s fantastic to see other authors who have done so well for themselves without the aid of publishers. The world of reading is truly transforming.

I feel like I was hoping for a mature young adult story (which I believe is now being termed ‘New Adult’), when this book was very standard YA instead. Why don’t I like YA? I think it’s just because I can’t suspend my belief sufficiently for it. Which is kind of ironic since I love fantastical plots like dragons, zombies, supernatural beings, or magic. There were times during this novel that I was like ‘yeah…sureee.’

The beginning is a little slow but the action/adventure side truly kicks in about half way. Prior to that, it’s a lot of drama/teenage angst/and romance. There was some confusing (latin?) lingo that you had to get used to like ‘demens’ and ‘scrit’. I think this was to indicate the change in time as new slang had been introduced. I thought that was a great touch and shows how much work Susan put into it. It’s those details that can make or break a book.

I would recommend this novel to those who enjoy standard young adult novels. If you were hoping this novel was one of the ‘mature’ YA novels, then sadly it isn’t. I would give it a try though because you might enjoy it more than I.

2.5 out of 5 stars

amazonbutton2 copyThis book is for you if you:

  • Adore standard YA novels
  • Love fascinating concepts such as a society of mind readers
  • Enjoy the two-boys-one-girl love triangle

This book is not for you if you:

  • Were hoping for a mature young adult novel
  • Hate bad boys being romanticized

 Ermisenda Alvarez

Enjoy this review?  Leave comments below or to submit a review request for your novel or see what other books we’ve reviewed, please check the Book Reviews page.

