Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

images

I don’t mean to offend anyone with this post but it was just too funny not to share! 😀


There are so many books we pick up, ravish with our eyes and then put it away satisfied. Those are the books we search for. The ones we want to read. Sadly, there are plenty of books I’ve put down. More than ones I’ve thoroughly enjoyed. Why?

TheHistorianRather than going into an in depth discussion about what makes or breaks a book…there’s one book I want to share with you that I tried to love. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. I bought it because it had a beautiful cover (yes, I caved and am a terrible person :P). The story was about “Dracula” or more specifically Vlad the Impaler. It sounded cool. I bought it years ago (I might have been 15 or 16?) and I still can’t finish it (4 years later). I wanted to. But I just can’t.

It’s 900 pages long. Its got an interesting premise but it is so terribly boring. The author spends so much time showing off how impressive her research was that the story dies. Where’s the climax? Where is the thrill? I don’t like when authors rush through scenes just to keep the reader “engaged” but I also dislike trudging through descriptions and history. Hoping, that at the other end of this swamp of ornate sentences there’s something exciting.

The story is about VAMPIRES. Why is there no action? Where is the blood? Bah! Such disappointment. Now the novel just sits on my bookshelf, waiting for the second-hand bookstore. I don’t know if I can manage to give them the colossal book of boredom.

10929432kittredge-caitlin-the-iron-thorn9475753

Other novels I have put down recently include The Archived by Victoria Schwab (great concept, but it didn’t grab me in the first chapter), The Thorn by Caitlin Kittredge (fantastic first chapter, terribly amateur plot afterward, very YA oriented), and Hell Gate by Linda Fairstein (all too graphic with the trafficking story, made me feel sick). I wanted to like them. But I just couldn’t finish them. What about you? What novels have you put down recently?

– Ermisenda Alvarez

