Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Before I Go To Sleep

by S. J. Watson

genre: thriller, suspense, mystery

An unexpected but addictive read. Find out why I gave it 5 out of 5 stars!

Summary

(Taken from Goodreads)

‘As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child. Thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me …’ Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love—all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story. Welcome to Christine’s life.

Review

Absolutely amazing. It will be hard to write about this book because from the get-go, it’s a roller coaster with twists around every corner. A friend of mine recommended me this novel. I’m glad I took her up on it.

Since Christiane forgets everything that happened when she falls asleep, I thought the novel might get repetitive. It doesn’t. Practically ever chapter ends with a cliffhanger of some sort. You’re constantly guessing about what happened to her and who she can trust. You feel her anxieties and her worries. Christiane is a believable protagonist and I felt for her. Not only do your emotions see-saw as hers does, but I found that I was conflicted with my emotions on who to trust and what was happening.

The writing style was great. It didn’t dabble in super long descriptions but provided enough to keep you in the scenes. There was plenty of dialogue, oodles of inner monologue and the pages flipped by so fast. I read this in one go on the flight. I’m glad I chose a good book.

It’s a serious novel. It feels and reads authentic, like you can imagine this happening. That’s what I truly appreciate in a book. The ending left me with a small gasp. It isn’t your traditional novel and leaves you to put the final piece together.

This novel allows for deep reflection to take place. Christine explores concepts such as human identity. She has become everyone and no one. Who are we without our memories? After reading this…I realised how fundamental our memories really are. It is one of my greatest fears to forget. To lose my memories and be unable to form new ones. What would be the point in living?

I gave it a full 5 out of 5 stars because I hadn’t been expecting much more than a simple crime/thriller book, but it hooked me, it made me feel, it gave me goosebumps, and kept me guessing until the end. A novel I read quickly and felt truly satisfied at the end. Apparently it’s getting turned into a movie. I can’t wait!

5 out of 5 stars

amazonbutton2 copyThis book is for you if you:

  • Enjoy detailed stories that put real effort into the plot to keep it original, refreshing, and intriguing.
  • Love fast paced novels.

This book is not for you if you:

  • Are looking for a thriller with a strong romantic component.
  • Love elaborate descriptions.

 Ermisenda Alvarez

Enjoy this review?  Leave comments below or to submit a review request for your novel or see what other books we’ve reviewed, please check the Book Reviews page.

