Tags

, , , ,

Warm Bodies

by Isaac Marion

genre: zombie, apocalyptic, romance

A quirky novel with a strange and yet tantalising mix of genres. Find out why I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars!

Summary

(Taken from Goodreads)

A zombie who yearns for a better life ends up falling in love—with a human—in this astonishingly original debut novel.

R is a zombie. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he has dreams. He doesn’t enjoy killing people; he enjoys riding escalators and listening to Frank Sinatra. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Not just another zombie novel, Warm Bodies is funny, scary, and deeply moving.

Review

The cover seems all so familiar now. While working in the bookstore nearly 2 years, I had passed this novel many times. I hadn’t touched it but I was intrigued. Years later, while walking around Europe, I noticed an explosion of interest in a ‘zombie romance’ movie. Warm Bodies.

As a massive zombie fan (any other The Walking Dead fans out there? REPRESENT! :P), I was intrigued by this novel. I didn’t like the look of the movie too much. It felt too…fake? mainstream? I’m not sure. I just didn’t like the feel of it. But…I was intrigued by the fact that a book was behind it. Naturally, I hunted it down.

Romance and zombies? It seems like an impossible combo. Somehow, Marion pulls it off. I really liked R, the protagonist of the novel. His deep reflections are enthralling, he asks the big questions about life and humanity. I didn’t like Julie all that much, she felt fake at first but she too grew on me. She seemed more natural later on, more authentic.

I loved the idea of this novel, the more I read, the more I was convinced that this novel had a brilliant concept. This is why I gave it an extra .5 in the ratings. I enjoyed the novel as a whole but I was severely disappointing by the ending. It didn’t satisfy.

I like serious zombie fiction and movies. I love The Walking Dead with a passion. I have been looking for a great zombie novel and sadly didn’t find it in World War Z. Unfortunately, neither did Warm Bodies. This book had a great concept but the ending wasn’t executed quite right (for me). I finished the novel feeling like there should have been more. I’m not sure if it will become a series, but there was so much to extract from the novel. It’s a shame really.

3.5 out of 5 stars

amazonbutton2 copyThis book is for you if you:

  • Like interesting mixes of genres.
  • Love novels explore the big questions such as ‘what makes us human?’
  • Love quirky and unlikely protagonists.

This book is not for you if you:

  • Are looking for a strict romance.
  • Dislike zombies and the occasional graphic description of zombies attacking.
  • Want a plot-driven plot rather than a character-driven plot.

 Ermisenda Alvarez

Enjoy this review?  Leave comments below or to submit a review request for your novel or see what other books we’ve reviewed, please check the Book Reviews page.

