Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

I would have to say I read books in a conventional manner to start with. I will have my legs crossed, or I’ll be sitting down with the book out in front of me. If the book grips me and I’m reading for a while, I have to keep changing positions. Often I end up reading while laying down on my stomach, sometimes on my back. But if I’m on my back my arms start to get sore. πŸ˜› If I’m reading on my bed, I end up in 50 different positions, all over the bed.

Reading paperback books (especially big ones that are heavy) can actually be a bit of a hassle sometimes. So much twisting and turning. I know at the bookstore I used to work at (Borders), they sold little pillows that were designed to rest on your stomach but to keep your book open for you at the right angle. I thought it was a brilliant idea but I never bought one. Have you seen them before?

Reading from my tablet isn’t that much better. Sure, it’s lighter than certain books and I don’t have to worry about tearing pages but I can still find it a hassle if I’m reading for a while. Sometimes I’ll just lay it on my desk and I’ll rest on my hand as I read. It looks like I am bored with the novel but it’s just because my neck hurts. πŸ˜›

Do you have one of those reading pillows? How do you read books? Are paperbacks or your Kindle/Tablet easier to read from?

– Ermisenda Alvarez

