Tags

, , , , ,

As some of you may have noticed, I have been more or less absent for the past 3 weeks. I was doing a short course overseas that contributed to my university degree in Australia. It was Positive Psychology in Maastricht, The Netherlands. It was a fantastic course in which I was able to take much from. You might notice many new posts that mention or revolve around Positive Psychology from my end (Ermisenda).

An exercise they shared with us that I would like to share with you is the 3 good things exercise. Martin Seligman, the leader of Positive Psychology and the science of what makes us happy, talks about it in this video. The empirical research exists to support it’s function in making us happier by means of exericising gratitude and appreciating the little things. What I find so great about it, is that it is so easy. For many psychology can seem like it’s all common sense and it’s intuitive. The frustrating thing is that humans seem to have a knack of catatrophising and developing maladaptive habits.

This post is just to ask from you all to name three good things that happened so far in the last 24 hours. They don’t have to be grandiose or phenomenal. They can be as simple as a good cup of coffee or a good conversation you had with a friend or stranger. Engaging in the ‘3 good things’ exercise once a week or daily can help remind us of all the good little things that we experience. Too often do our negative experiences overpower the little things that brighten our day. It’s time to let them shine!

My 3 Good Things:
– The sun shone here in the Netherlands today (as an Australian, I sure do miss the sun during European winter!)
– My hot chocolate with a spoonful of Baileys was delightful last night
– I was given a warm wake-up kiss from my partner

What about you? Name 3 good things that happened to you in the past 24 hours and share with us. 🙂

– Ermisenda Alvarez

