Tags

, , , , , , ,

As you may know, I (Ermisenda) am currently doing my exams for university. It is a brutal process but I’m not here to share my pain. I am actually writing to share the power of music to motivate. Only now was I highlighting my notes and forcing myself to read about psychometrics for my exam on Monday, but my motivation had just run out.

The first thing I did was open youtube and type “Drunk” by Ed Sheeran. Ed Sheeran is one of my favourite artists and although I’ve never been drunk, or want to get drunk, I love the song.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I circulate through a few songs for a few weeks. My songs for this exam period are “Drunk”, “Lego House” and “Small Bump” by Ed Sheeran, “Good Intent” and “Camero Lover” by Kimbra. There’s something in music that just lifts your spirits. The song itself doesn’t have to be inherently joyful (although that does help when you’re exhausted or upset), it just needs to be your taste. Absorbing the melody and feeling the beat course through my veins, brings life to my fried brain. Music replenishes the soul. It’s my little pick up. And I need quite a few to give me any motivation to study.

Do you have a favourite pick-me-up song of the moment? How do you motivate yourself?

Β – Ermisenda Alvarez

