Tags

, , , , ,

What… the… H.  I thought this was a joke when I first saw comments flying about it on Facebook.  Not only is Gabby Douglas the first person of color to win an Olympic all-around gold medal in gymnastics, she is also the first US gymnast in history to win both a team gold and Olympic all-around gold medal.  What are people talking about?  Her hair.

I don’t know where this is coming from. What’s wrong with my hair? I’m like ‘I just made history and people are focused on my hair?’ It can be bald or short, it doesn’t matter about my hair. Nothing is going to change. I’m going to wear my hair like this during beam and bar finals. You might as well just stop talking about it.

-Gabby Douglas

Seriously?  Good for her for standing up in a society so image obsessed that we can’t be excited to see history in the making, and telling them to get over themselves.  I hope that as future Olympians look for someone to aspire to be, they look at Gabby and see her poise, determination, and incredible talent.  And for the record, there is absolutely nothing wrong with her hair.

Look at this picture and tell me how anyone can fixate on her hair.

Original article.

-Eliabeth

