Tags

, , , ,

Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose

by Tony Hsieh

genre: business

This is a must read for anyone who works in customer service (ATT, you could learn a thing or two about how to treat customers)  See what “19.95 a month” really gets you if you sign up with AT&T internet service. Here’s a hint, it’s more than double and unless you’re someone important, they have no interest in fixing it.  That story here.

It’s a great book for anyone in business, especially entrepreneurs and those in leadership positions, or anyone who likes Zappos.

Review

This is the first five star review where I’m really at a loss for what to say.  It was a wonderful book and I soaked it up pretty quickly.  It was a reading assignment for my position as a marketing associate and it had insights into the importance of customer service and a unified company culture.  As I said, if you’re in customer service, you need to read this book.  You may be restricted to a script and not allowed to interact with the customers in the same manner as Zappos employees, but there’s still something that you can take from it.  Clearly, no one from ATT has ever read this book since the customer service representatives think it is a huge burden in their day to answer your call and want to pass you off on the next person as quickly as possible.

Though not intended for this, it’s also a brilliant PR move.  I had never heard of Zappos before, but the next time I need any apparel I am shopping from Zappos.com.  Free shipping, free return shipping, 365 days to change your mind, appeal to anyone else?  Try on various sizes and send back the ones that don’t fit. Brilliant.  Try on dresses in the comfort of your own home.  After reading a transcript of an actual chat room conversation where the employee was able to play along with a customer who wished to converse entirely in third person, I was laughing so hard I nearly fell off the sofa.

Now, I will say one of my coworkers is having trouble finding it interesting, but I loved it, I highly recommend it if you have any interest in business, Zappos, or most of all, customer service.  I’m really not sure what else to say about it.  It’s probably not a genre most of you read, but I think as bloggers and in some cases authors, there is something in it for every one of our readers.

5 out of 5 stars

-Eliabeth Hawthorne
To submit a review request for your novel or see what other books we’ve reviewed, please check the Book Reviews page.

