Tags

, , , ,

Has anyone else noticed that fortune cookies are less predictive and more instructive?  I like them, and they’re good quotes, but they really aren’t fortune cookies any more so much as quote cookies.  Take this one:

Enhance your karma by engaging in various charitable activities.

While I did derive some pleasure at scoffing and rolling my eyes at the various cookies telling me fame and fortune are in my future, I actually liked this one.  If you’ve explored the site much, you know Ermi and I support charities and participate in fund raising activities when we can.  Whether that has given us good karma or not, it’s something we will always strive to do, and in the next few months have a really exciting charity project all of you will be able to participate in.

The other fortune cookie I got reminded me of Plato’s allegory of the cave:

Everything that we see is a shadow cast by that which we do not see.

Not exactly a fortune either, but once again, a great quote.  Had we not already gotten the first cookie, I don’t think I would have tied it into good karma, but it fits so well with the first, that’s where my mind went.

We may not see someone give, but we can see the good that comes from it.  Just some random thoughts inspired by fortune cookies.  🙂  Feel free to leave comments below.

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

