Tags

, , , , , ,

One Inch of Grace posted “I’ve Been Tagged” and instead of tagging followers, let everyone come and answer one of these questions:

1. What advice would you give to new parents?
2. How is your life different than you imagined it would be 10 years ago?
3. Have you ever had a good lesson that came in strange wrapping paper?
4. What is something you said you would never do that you now do routinely?
5. What books are you reading and what do you think about them?
6. What path did you take to do the job you are doing now?
7. If you could change something about your life, what would it be?
8. What is the best thing that has happened to you in the past year?
9. What do you think will be different about your life in 10 years?
10. What is your favorite blog post ever, and why (you can include your own)?

I’m answering #5, feel free to answer any of the questions in our comment section or your own blog with a pingback, or go to the original post here.

What books are you reading and what do you think about them?

I’m constantly in the middle of multiple books.  At the moment, I am reading Stay Tuned, Delivering Happiness, and Three to get Deadly.

Stay Tuned

Synopsis: For TV producer Melissa Moore, crisis management comes with the job. From employee disputes to her high-maintenance boss, there’s not much she hasn’t seen or can’t handle.

But no one—including Melissa—expects a fistfight during the ten o’clock news. When sexy-but-crazy Alyssa Andrews lands a punch on her co-anchor’s face, Melissa jumps on set to help. She’s determined that WSGA’s reputation won’t be destroyed on her watch.

Both anchors are fired and Melissa agrees to fill in—but not before polishing her look from haircut to heels. While the new Melissa wows WSGA viewers, her personal life starts fraying at the edges. Melissa’s husband is away more than he’s home, leaving cryptic Post-it notes in his wake. Her mother’s antics spiral out of control at the nursing home and a stalker decides Melissa is her next target.

My Thoughts: I’m about 50% of the way through and it’s finally getting good.  I think it’s a personal preference thing because I’m upset by the lack of… character development isn’t right, but it’s along those lines.  The characters are certainly changing and developing, but very much like In Leah’s Wake they see a problem in their personal life they just refuse to fix.  It’s driving me nuts.  I was thinking it would be more like Single in Suburbia which I LOVED despite being weak on plot.  I love books about people just being people and struggling through life.  I don’t like characters avoiding their life and being passive in their own stories.

Delivering Happiness

Delivering Happiness, I am reading for work.  It’s about the Zappos story and company culture.  The success and failure of corporations leading up to the Zappos endeavor.  I love it, but I’m in marketing and I’m very sensitive to corporate culture, so this won’t be a book for everyone.

Three to get Deadly

This is the third book in the Stephanie Plum series.  I’ve read random books and I’m finally starting at the beginning and reading them all of the way through.  I love all Stephanie Plum novels.  Janet Evanovich can make the most random and should-be-boring moments in the book interesting.  She is the only author I know who can get away with mentioning her character’s bladder needs and get away with it.

Reviews to come when I’m finished with each of them, and as soon as I finish Delivering Happiness, I am going to start Catching Fire.

-Eliabeth Hawthorne

What about you?  Read anything good recently?

