Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Forbidden Mind
by Kimberly Kinrade

genre: paranormal thriller, sci-fi

Sam is a seventeen year old living at Rent-A-Kid, an establishment that rents out children with paranormal powers to clients willing to pay the big bucks.  In return for reading minds, at eighteen Sam is promised a new identity and admission into the college of her choice, but right before she’s let lose into the real world, something goes wrong.  Sam talks back to one of her clients and back at the Rent-A-Kid infirmary, she sees something she should not.  Now the girl who reads minds and the boy who controls them have to figure out how to escape Rent-A-Kid alive.

review
First, thank you Kimberly Kinrade for producing a quality manuscript.  The last two books I read (and did not review) had so many typos that it drove me nuts.  It’s sad that it’s rare enough to find a quality manuscript that I feel the need to point this out, but it is.  No typos!

Now… I’ve spoken to the author and here’s the thing… for me to recommend this book, I feel the need to attach a content warning, but this content warning requires explanation and in that explanation there is a spoiler.  There are two red button topics that I cannot get past when reading a book or watching a movie.  While Forbidden Mind did not have either, it did have content that I know can be one of those topics for other people.  I will include a reminder warning before I launch into the explanation and spoiler, but if you chose to skip over the last paragraph(s) and warning, do not hold it against me if you don’t like the book.

For those of you skipping the content warning, I’ll just say there is mature content that I feel is inappropriate for YA and did not label Forbidden Mind a YA novel even though the author has.  There aren’t any explicit scenes, no foul language (that I recall), and less violence than The Hunger Games which I did list as YA.  You now see why I feel the need to explain, but once again, there’s a spoiler, so for those of you skipping that, don’t hold it against me.

If you don’t want to know the spoiler, STOP reading now.  I gave the book 4 stars. I am not going to ask people to limit their comments and not discuss the spoiler, so please be careful when reading other comments.

Everyone else, keep reading.

If Forbidden Mind weren’t YA, it wouldn’t be a big deal, and you might blow it off and wonder what the fuss is, but here’s the thing.  I know women and girls who have been the victims of rape.  Some of them would have no issue with this book, others would have to go talk to their therapists less than half of the way through.  The narrator of the story is artificially inseminated against her knowledge or will, you may not consider it rape, you may not consider it too mature for young audiences, but I couldn’t recommend the book without mentioning that.

That being said, it’s a good book and I would even recommend it to teens who are at a maturity level to be able to handle this content, MG and YA readers who aren’t at that level should stay away from this book.

4 out of 5 stars.

