Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
3 out of 5

The Night Circus is a novel about a circus that only performs at night. Behind the amazing feats of the circus is a fiery duel between two great magicians. They have chosen their players and these players, Celia and Marco, have been preparing for this battle since they were children.  Despite their roles in the game they fall in love.

I was really intrigued by the Night Circus when I picked it out, unfortunately I didn’t feel like it lived up to it’s expectations.

I enjoyed the first quarter and the last quarter the best. I am someone who loves my characters but on top of that I have to feel like I am experiencing an exciting journey as I read. Plot is very important for me and while there was a consistent plot I felt like it was drawn out, especially in the middle. If the book had removed a third of it’s content, I feel like the plot would have been much more concentrated and interesting. I say a third because I felt like I skim read a third.

I loved Erin Morgenstern’s writing style. Her metaphors and descriptive paragraphs were magic. She created the perfect circus atmosphere and conjured strikingly different characters. I felt the magic of the circus because of her magical writing touch.

Overall, the concept was great, the writing style was exquisite and while the plot was good it took too long to develop. It was drawn out and I was skim reading a lot which for me interrupts dynamic relationships and the flow of the story. For those who don’t mind a lot of description and stories that focus more on the characters and atmosphere than the plot I am sure you will enjoy The Night Circus much more than I. A decent read with some faults.

Has anyone else read or wants to read The Night Circus? Do you agree with this review or not?

– Ermisenda Alvarez 

