Tags

, , , ,

Sue’s Fingerprint by Andrew D. Carlson
3 out of 5

Sue’s Fingerprint by Andrew D. Carlson is a young adult sci-fi novel. I am usually not too interested by that combination but Sue’s Fingerprints was an enjoyable read. The story follows the journey of numerous characters and how their lives are affected by this mysterious, alien goo. What can the goo do? It clones those who touch it.

It’s not very often that we have a YA book that doesn’t involve vampires, werewolves (something supernatural and overtly sexual) or unrealistic highschool dramas (popular girl fiascos). This was a very different YA book and that is one of the reasons why I liked it. The book didn’t try to conform to the current YA “trend” but instead it stood on it’s own two feet, proudly.

In some ways I wished the book wasn’t YA, I would have enjoyed reading how the book developed within the cloning theme (which is something I’m fascinated in) as an adult book. The book would have shifted from good to great with that extra depth behind this mysterious goo and the whimsical character created.

I loved how concise, clear and short the chapters were. It kept the book moving at an enjoyable pace. Humor was sprinkled across the chapters appropriately which I liked. The book made sure you didn’t get lost within the goo-investigation by having the characters clarify themselves and what they knew about the goo. Although this is great, particularly for children, it sometimes felt repetitive but I preferred Carlson’s “safe” approach rather than being lost in the plot. The ending was also very clean, all the knots had been tied and there was a sense of compete resolution. For some people, that’s perfect. Personally, I prefer open endings but for children (Tweens) this is probably a wiser choice.

Overall, I enjoyed reading this book. It wouldn’t be a book I would pick off the shelves but I am glad I got the opportunity to read it. It was fresh, I loved the character Sue and viewing the world through her eyes. The concept was great and subsequently, Carlson has activated the ‘read-clone-novels’ switch within me.

amazonbutton2 copy– Ermisenda Alvarez

