Tags

, , , , ,

The shortest horror story:

The last man on earth sat alone in a room. There was a knock at the door.

– Frederic Brown

Reblogged on Ermisenda's tumblr

I found the best short horror story ever. I thought it was brilliant. I want to find out more! Damn it for being the shortest horror story ever! *Sighs sadly* Aren’t short stories like this great? Has anyone come across something similar?

Often, as writers and readers, we get lost in the complexity of a 50,000 word novel or 120,000 fantasy novel (CRAZYYY!) and we forget the simplicity of a good short story. 2 sentences is incredibly short – I admit but I am often overwhelmed when I read a great short story (like our lovely Picture it & write contributions or something longer: 1-3 thousand words). It’s like a breath of fresh air. I love long novels but I am someone who needs to enjoy a well-written short story every once and a while. I’m not sure if anyone else has this.

It always surprises me how difficult it can be to write a short story well (That’s why Picture it & write is a great practice arena!), the same can be said for long stories. Those who can write one may not be able to write the other.

All in all: bask in the brilliance of this short horror story. Keep the light on tonight!

Ermisenda Alvarez

