Tags

, , , ,

I urge people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language (provide a translation please :)). Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph has been reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr.

The roar of waves crashing down onto the beach filled my ears. The occasional seagull squawked. My eyes stung and I struggled to open them with the sun’s penetrating rays blinding me. Warm, wet sand cradled me while salty foam lapped at my ankles. Men and women shouted in the distance. What happened? My muscles ached, salt water had scoured the inside of my nose and it burned. My stomach lurched and I vomited onto the glittering, golden sand. Firm hands suddenly clung onto my water dappled skin. “My baby,” I could hear my mother and father cooing. Once I stopped vomiting I turned to look behind me, still in shock of what occurred. The sea pulsed like a beast and hushed me to stay quiet.

– Ermisenda Alvarez

