Tags

, , , , ,

This is the “victory” song that runs with the credits at the end of Portal, a video game by Valve for the XBox360, but I think you can play it on the computer too.

While I have never played the game, I know this song by heart.  Why? It is adicting on so many levels.  First, the tune is impossible to get out of your head.  Second, it is so peppy if you ignore the lyrics but morbidly creepy if you listen to the words.  I love that!  I’ve watched clips of the game either on YouTube or observing someone play and the dark humor is something to admire.  To truly enjoy the humor of the song, you have to know a few things about the game.

(Contains spoilers)

“Anyway, this cake is great.
It’s so delicious and moist.”

At the end of every sucessful level, the computer you are trying to destroy promises you cake and psychological counseling.  In one of the rooms part of the way through, someone has scribbled “the cake is a lie” all over the walls in blood.

“Even though you broke my heart.
And killed me.
And tore me to pieces.
And threw every piece into a fire.”

At some point in the game, you’re given a cube with a heart on it.  You are told it is your only friend.  According to people who have played, you become quite attached to this cube.  You use it as a weight to open and close various escape paths, but in the end, throwing your friend cube into the furnace is the only way to win the game.

For more about Portal from someone who has played the game and can explain the Black Mesa reference, one of my favorite blogs did a much larger post about it at The Rabid Lit Major 
It is worth the read.

-Eliabeth

