Tags

, , , ,

Nothing is more fun and yet concerning to those watching me than when I laugh and sob at the same time.  Wendy Wax accomplished this in her book Single in Suburbia.  It was a hilarious description of a heart wrenching expression that brought on this fit of giggles and tears.  Single in Suburbia had me chuckling almost every chapter; pair that with the character Amanda Sheridan who really knows how to put a cheating husband in his place, and you’ve got a book I could hardly put down.

Single in Suburbia follows jilted wife Amanda, replacement wife Brooke, and divorcee Candace as they help Amanda keep her house after her husband lost everything.  In order to keep Amanda’s family afloat, they start Maid For You, a cleaning service specializing English speaking French maids after Amanda discovers that being a stay at home mom does not dazzle prospective employers.  She, Brook, and Candace dress in wigs and gaudy make-up as  they clean, snoop, and realize that no family is as perfect as it seems.

Single in Suburbia is an example of how disaster can have positive ripples and turmoil shows us who our real friends are.  The main characters are witty, real, and nothing in their life is perfect.  Each of them struggles with their own jaded past as they battle with who they were and who they want to be.

As for Amanda’s husband…

While I love writing villians that you feel sorry for, I don’t like reading about them.  I’m fickle like that.  I want to hate them, I want to jump around gleefully when something bad happens to them, especially if they brought it on themselves, but I also think that feeling sorry for the bad guy is more realistic and harder to accomplish, so I have a love-hate relationship with the husband character (he does not deserve to be named).

5 out of 5 stars.

amazonbutton2 copy-Eliabeth Hawthorne

Other books I would recommend in this genre:
Four to Score by Janet Evanovich
Motor Mouth by Janet Evanovich
… basically anything by Janet Evanovich

