Tags

, , , ,

I love Twitter!  I did not think it was possible to sound intelligent in 140 characters, but I was wrong.  For one thing, you can post links to blogs where *gasp* you can expand past the 140 character restriction.  Twitter also has some awesome rants and advice from agents and authors.

Here are some of my favorites:

“Awkward when I start a manuscript, am digging the POV character, and then they kill someone and I realize I was supposed to find them evil.”
-Amy Boggs (@notjustanyboggs)

“How NOT to get your MS read by an agent: Police blow up briefcase left for lit agent: http://yhoo.it/rusZ58
-Lydia Kang (@LydiaYKang)

“Don’t quote your rejection letters. They don’t count as “reviews”. #pubtip
-Evan Gregory (@EvanJGregory)

“Here are words and phrases I like to see in query letters: Edgy, contemporary, fast-paced, no love triangle, no vampires, badass chicks, etc”
-Bree Ogden (@breeogden)

The rest I cannot quote exactly, because they are too far back in my list, but they involve tips like, do not show up in person with your entire manuscript, do not bribe agents with food, do not send pictures of yourself, and for the love of everything… if you are stupid enough to call in to submit your query (which btw you shouldn’t do ever) know what agency you are talking to.

Lastly, not so much a rant, but the Tweet that inspired the post:

“The things I research while writing–what does rabbit taste like…what kind of texture does it have. Yes, the things I won’t do for my work”
-E. S. Lark (@eslarke)

I’ve gone to my brother’s work to collect bar stories in order to have more realistic scenes for our book (some of the characters are bartenders) and I’ve consulted with psychologists on behavior responses for some of our more colorful characters.

What happens in your book that you decided to research rather than experience yourself?  What advice have you gotten from Twitter people that you would like to share?

Follow me on Twitter @EliaHawthorne, mention this blog post and I’ll follow you back.

