Tags

, , , ,

My parents never held me back when it comes to language and learning. If anything, they probably exposed me to things earlier than appropriate–my mom read The Three Musketeers to us when I was in 6th grade and my brother was in 3rd. Thankfully I was too young to understand all of the more colorful aspects of the book.

Fast forward *cough* years. My sister-in-law gave birth to a beautiful baby boy last week. Out of respect for her and my brother, I don’t have any pictures (that I can share) and I’ll call him Dig. Any who know his real name will get the reference and the rest of you… just go with it and trust me–it’s cute.

Wanting Dig to grow up with books, I went over to the hospital ready to read to him on his first day in the world. Knowing he’s too young to retain anything except maybe the sound of my voice, I took a business book. Reading along, I’m not filtering anything so I keep going right over the words “sex” and “bullshit” without censoring myself. I closed the book and turned to my brother.

“Didn’t expect that in a business book, so let’s get it out right now–what don’t you want me to read to him at what ages?”

Brother shrugged and reminded me about The Three Musketeers. After he said there wasn’t anything he wanted me to keep from Dig, I asked his wife the same question.

“Umm… Don’t read Fifty Shades of Grey and we’re good.”

We all got a good laugh out of that one. I don’t know that I’ll be reading The Three Musketeers to him, but I love how open minded they are. As soon as he starts talking, I’m going to be more careful what I read to him; I just know if I keep reading books with “bullshit” in them, he’s going to pick that up faster than anything else no matter how casually I glaze over it. Dig is going to grow up on an interesting blend of toddler books, non-fiction, fantasy, and whatever subjects seem to interest him.

Time to start stocking up on books for Dig’s future library.

Over 50 chapter books to read aloud to preschoolers.

What are your thoughts? Are there books or subjects besides Fifty Shades that should be off limits at certain ages?

