Tags

, , ,

Some of the Blind Sight characters have become like family. I can tell you what books Aniela has read or look in a shop window and pick out clothes for Nate as if I can mail them to Edaion for Christmas. On Pinterest, I know which nail art Aniela would try and which eye shadow Tatiana would wear. Boxers or briefs, wouldn’t you like to know? Other characters, I’m no so in tune with. Instead of having their own voice, I hear echoes of another character speaking through them–muddled and morphed so that it’s neither the original character’s voice nor the intended one.

It makes me want to scream.

The good news is I found an interesting character questionnaire on Writers Write. You’ll have to check them out for the full list, but some of my favorites were:

  • How does your character feel about religion?
  • What were your character’s deepest disillusions? In life? What are they now?
  • Does your character feel self-righteous? Revengeful? Contemptuous?
  • Do they always rationalize errors? How do they accept disasters and failures?
  • What do they like to ridicule? What do they find stupid?

Some of them I’ve thought about, but never explored deeply. Others, I’ve never really asked.

How well do you know your characters? Head over to Writers Write and find out.

-Eliabeth

P.S. Get tips like this and more by following our board The Writing Process on Pinterest.

