Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Timetraveler’s Wife

by Audrey Niffenegger

genre: science fiction, chick-lit, adult

It started out alright, but by the end, I thought I was Oprah handing out bad news. “You’re an a-hole. You’re a horrible person. You’re an idiot.” This was in no way a romantic novel and a far cry from the most romantic novel of [insert anything here].

Synopsis from Goodreads

The Time Traveler's WifeAudrey Niffenegger’s dazzling debut is the story of Clare, a beautiful, strong-minded art student, and Henry, an adventuresome librarian, who have known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, and were married when Clare was twenty-three and Henry thirty-one. Impossible but true, because Henry is one of the first people diagnosed with Chrono-Displacement Disorder: his genetic clock randomly resets and he finds himself misplaced in time, pulled to moments of emotional gravity from his life, past and future. His disappearances are spontaneous and unpredictable, and lend a spectacular urgency to Clare and Henry’s unconventional love story. That their attempt to live normal lives together is threatened by something they can neither prevent nor control makes their story intensely moving and entirely unforgettable.

Initial Thoughts

What was I thinking? I hate the Greek understanding of fate because I think it takes free will out of the equation. Even though Niffenegger addresses this, it’s pretty much an entire book about predetermination. Henry can’t do things in the past or future that didn’t happen already. He can’t prevent a car crash, can’t prevent his dad from walking in on him having fun with himself, etc.

Review

When I’m reading, there’s two types of disgusted.

1. I hate the world because it’s so well done that it terrifies me. Usually part of a dystopian world, I’m revolted by the way women are treated or how the government controls every detail of the citizen’s lives. Think Matched by Ally Condie or The Selection by Kiera Cass. This is a good hate because it makes you think.

2. I hate the characters. Either I don’t like their personality or just can’t connect with them. I despise stupid characters; I don’t mean naive, but there is a fine line. This is a bad hate.

I hated, HATED these characters by the end. Two of them I wanted to slap in the face. Any sympathy points they had going for them evaporated. What really killed me was the lack of guilt. You just can’t… *brain explodes*

I’m not sure why I didn’t give it a one but I’m keeping my original two star review. There were some good quotes here and there that I’d like to give their own post since this book was so not my cup of tea. I just noticed the description of the sequel and threw my arms up. What the hell? Obviously I won’t be reading it, but it seems I’m one of the few people who had a problem with it.

2 out of 5 stars

amazonbutton2 copy
Eliabeth Hawthorne

