Tags

, , , , , ,

On Saturday, 343 firefighters climbed 110 flights of stairs to remember the firefighters who died helping get people out of the World Trade Center in the second annual 9/11 Memorial Stair Climb.  Each of them carried a picture and a name of one of the lost firefighters to take to the top of the tower.  On their way inside, the firefighters touched a piece of Ground Zero. I was able to hold in the tears until looking for a place to give a donation, expecting to donate to the Dallas fire station or something along those lines.  Instead, I found a table with silver bracelets with victim’s names engraved. As the woman next to me started asking people to search for a family member’s name, I couldn’t stop crying.  I didn’t lose anyone, but I got Alicia N. Titus’s name.  She was a crew member on the UA #175 flight.   When I asked the man with the bracelets where I could make a donation, he said he was taking donations for the Twin Tower Orphan Fund.  I was only able to donate $5, but that’s something.  I don’t know if Alicia had kids, but getting the bracelet suddenly made the whole thing more personal.  I will never forget where I was when the planes hit, watching the second one hit.  Now, there’s one more person who will never forget Alicia Titus. R.I.P. Alicia. -Eliabeth “The greatest tribute we can raise to honor those lost is their children.”  -Twin Tower Orphan Fund.

Some of the firefighters who climbed on Saturday.

