Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Fade

by Lisa McMann

genre: paranormal, YA

Are you fascinated by dreams? Did you like WAKE? I am and I recently read Wake, so when I heard about this sequel I had to read it!

Summary

(Taken from Goodreads)
For Janie and Cabel, real life is getting tougher than the dreams. They’re just trying to carve out a little (secret) time together, but no such luck.

Disturbing things are happening at Fieldridge High, yet nobody’s talking. When Janie taps into a classmate’s violent nightmares, the case finally breaks open — but nothing goes as planned. Not even close. Janie’s in way over her head, and Cabe’s shocking behavior has grave consequences for them both.

Worse yet, Janie learns the truth about herself and her ability — and it’s bleak. Seriously, brutally bleak. Not only is her fate as a dream catcher sealed, but what’s to come is way darker than she’d feared….

Review

I read Wake which was the first book in the Dream Catcher series and so I moved on to the second, Fade. I was excited for this novel but I didn’t want to get my hopes too high, in case the book turned out to be a bust. It wasn’t. I think the second book was as exciting if not more than the first.

Not only do we get further characterisation with a well-paced plot, but we learn more about Janie’s abilities. I don’t want to ruin anything but I really like that the consequences of her abilities are so bleak. It made me sympathise with her. I found the development between Janie and Cabel sweet once more and I really like the romantic sub-plot, just like in the first.

The new plot was by far the best thing in the book and kept it new and exciting. Janie has to investigate the school for sexual predators. All the threads of the story came together for the finale and it was fantastic. I had moments where I wanted to jump into the book and help out in any way, the suspense and tension kept you gripped. The role of Janie’s abilities (dream catching) helped her out and provided the story with its special flavour again. Like in the first book, her dream catching abilities provided the story with a light paranormal feel.

It was a fantastic sequel.

4.5 out of 5 stars

This book is for you if:

  • You enjoy quirky, paranormal concepts incorporated into novels (in this case, dream catching).
  • You want a short, enjoyable, YA read.
  • You’re looking for something “different”.

This book is not for you if:

  • You are looking for a heavy characterisation storyline with elaborate descriptions.
  • You dislike third person present narration.
  • If you are sensitive to topics about sexual predators.

- Ermisenda Alvarez

Enjoy this review?  Leave comments below or to submit a review request for your novel or see what other books we’ve reviewed, please check the Book Reviews page.

