Tags

, , , , , , , ,

One of our readers and frequent commenters has written this poem for The Girl Effect Blogging campaign.  We are ending our part of the campaign with this poem, “Silence Me.”

image from "What About God" blog.

You can never
silence me forever

I will speak out
not whisper but shout

The injustice of all
the innocent that fall

Upon whom you prey
all through every day

For children they are
not adults by far

Just little girls who
deserve better than you

Although you beat me
you’ll never defeat me

As their plight I
to high heaven cry

Letting the world know
their charity to show

The injusice of it all
is my heart’s call

I want everyone to see
this is a tragedy!

link back: Silence Me.
see our original posts here and here

Thank you all who contributed to the campaign and helped us get the word out. This ends the official campaign, but that doesn’t mean the posts have to stop.  We can change the world, one girl at a time, breaking the cycle of poverty by passing on knowledge from mother to daughter.

-Eliabeth

