Tags

, , , , ,

This will be a weekly treat. Thank you for the previous comments and contributions. I can’t wait to read the new snippets of fiction!

I urge people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language. Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph has been reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr.

“What do you think happened?” she gasped. Her fingers lingered to her lips. My gaze swept the barren land, studded with scorched trees that now resembled crooked toothpicks. She launched herself out of the car and walked towards the disaster. I didn’t want to leave her alone, so I also abandoned the car. We had been driving for days without destination. Destruction had struck the cities. Had we, as survivors, been naive in thinking that the countryside was peaceful? Did the fires, bombings and disease follow us here too? The stench of ash seared my nostrils. I didn’t like staring at the wreckage; the feeble hope I had been clinging onto threatened to go up in flames.

- Ermisenda Alvarez

(If in a foreign language, if possible please add a translation)
-Eliabeth Hawthorne

